What is Scrum Lifecycle


What is Scrum Lifecycle?

What is Scrum Lifecycle?

Scrum is the most wide-spread Agile framework nowadays. Compared to traditional product development practices, Scrum is considered an upgrade. It is recognized by professionals from different industries all over the world.

Every single approach to software development has its own lifecycle. Unlike the traditional Waterfall methodology, the lifecycle of all Agile methods (including Scrum) is rather iterative than consecutive. In this article, we will answer the question: What is the Scrum lifecycle? The first thing we should mention while giving the answer to this question is that the lifecycle of Scrum is very similar to those of other Agile methodologies. That is because of their common key-principles. All Agile methods are based on an iterative approach to project performance and consideration of the customer’s and the final user’s opinion. Scrum is not an exception.

It’s of crucial importance to have a thorough insight into the Scrum lifecycle, but first, let’s remind you of some basic theory.


What is Scrum?

Scrum is a popular Agile framework designed for incremental product development. It has empirical nature and empowers teams to hypothesize regarding working patterns, test their ideas, process the experience, and perform necessary adjustments. Scrum is an iterative and flexibly structured method. It allows practices from other frameworks where they logically fit.

Scrum operates through iterations called Sprints, so the main events and artifacts of a Sprint represent the components of a Scrum lifecycle. Any Sprint is a timebox lasting up to a month, during which a team is supposed to deliver a specific list of agreed-upon items fitting into the confirmed definition of “done.”


What are the Scrum values?

Scrum values include Courage, Focus, Commitment, Respect, and Openness. You may follow our complete Scrum guide to learn more about these values and how they apply to Scrum.


So what is Scrum Lifecycle?

Scrum lifecycle is a number of consecutive steps and iterative stages that should be performed during the realization of any Scrum project. The iterative approach is the main principle of the m lifecycle. The work on a Scrum project is subdivided into segments called Sprints. The project develops from one sprint to another until the final product is ready. Each sprint is subdivided into several consecutive stages that it must pass from the beginning till the end. Scrum methodology also includes more specialized lifecycles like the testing life cycle and the defect life cycle.


Scrum lifecycle in details

What are the parts of the Scrum lifecycle? Scrum does not involve many written reports, unlike the traditional Waterfall. It includes only a few artifacts:

  • Product Backlog is a written representation of all product features the Product Owner desires to have in the end product. This product specification is typically broken into separate tickets with either technical details or explicit user stories. The list of requirements is prioritized according to the requirements. It undergoes numerous changes and modifications during the development process, so not all the items put into the Product Backlog will be delivered.
  • Sprint Backlog is a set of the selected product backlog items that must be delivered within a single Sprint iteration.
  • The increment is a list of product backlog items meeting the team’s definition of “done” by the end of each Sprint.

Let’s consider the details.

The first step of any Scrum project is the stage of gathering necessary information about the future product. It is the responsibility of the Product Owner. He is the person who contacts the customer to understand his vision of future software. Gathering user stories is also one of his responsibilities. After all user stories are collected and all the customer’s wishes are considered, they are prioritized in a list that is called a product backlog. It is the main document of every Scrum project.

After the prioritization of the product backlog items, they are turned into tasks and divided into several sprints. The team makes it during the sprint planning meetings. The main goal of each meeting is to create a sprint backlog. It is a document that contains all tasks for a certain sprint. After the sprint is finished the work of the team will be estimated in accordance with the fulfillment of the sprint backlog requirements.

The next step in the Scrum lifecycle is the process of sprint execution. It includes a consequent performance of all sprint tasks and everyday evaluation of workflow. The progress of the sprint backlog requirements is evaluated during the daily Scrums – the team gatherings where all the positive and negative work issues are discussed.

After the sprint comes to its end, all members of the Scrum team participate in the sprint review and the sprint retrospectives. These gatherings help to find out what went wrong during the sprint.

The final step of every sprint is the stage of product estimation. The product is evaluated in accordance with the team’s definition of “Done” and provided to the customer to obtain his feedback. Then a new sprint starts, and the cycle repeats.


Scrum with Hygger.io


Wrapping up

Considering the level of transparency and the unstoppable learning process within the Scrum development cycle, the smallest possible outcome becomes an essential cost-effective result of the framework, not to mention refined product characteristics and flawless product quality.

The essence of Scrum requires the involvement of only responsible employees with solid field background. What do you think about the Scrum lifecycle?

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Please be polite. We appreciate that.
Your email address will not be published and required fields are marked

Share via
Send this to a friend
We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies.